Oyo APC Stakeholders Harp On Unity, Cohesion


Leaders and other critical stakeholders of the Oyo State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have, again, called on members of the party to resolve their differences and work for the unity of the party.

This was part of the major highlights of the communique issued at the end of a stakeholders’ meeting of the party, held at the Premier Hotel, Ibadan, on Thursday.

The communique, adopted by all present at the meeting, was signed by Alhaji Waheed Olajide and Professor Adeolu Akande, chairman, Nigerian Communication Commission, NCC (chairman and secretary, respectively,
Communique Committee).

The meeting consisted largely of those party leaders and chieftains who recently returned into the Oyo State chapter of the party, after having been in some other political parties.

The meeting was convened to brief members in the state of the outcome of meetings held with the National Reconciliation Committee on the state, set up by the APC National Caretaker Committee in Abuja on September 10, 2020.

The stakeholders’ meeting, attended by leaders of the party from all the 33 local government areas of the state, was held under the chairmanship of Alhaji Abu Gbadamosi, chairman of the Oyo State Teaching Service Commission (2011-2015).

Senator Ayo Adeseun, Senator Olufemi Lanlehin and former Minister of Communication, Alhaji Adebayo Shittu, gave account of the meeting with the APC National Reconciliation Committee.

The trio, while giving account of the Abuja meeting, implored members of the Oyo APC to resolve their differences and work for the unity of the party, just as all contentious issues that led to the crisis in the party were examined and addressed.

READ  Buhari to Goje, Ndume: Lawan is APC’s candidate

The members of the party in the state were informed that there would soon be registration of members at a date to be announced soon.

They were informed that the party would soon hold congresses to elect new executives in the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and that a convention would thereafter hold at a date to be announced.

“The two groups that attended the meeting with the committee were directed to nominate three members each that will oversee the registration of new members with the executive committee of the party and maintain the liaison between the party in Oyo State and the national secretariat of the APC.

“Another meeting of selected leaders and representatives of stakeholders in the party in Oyo State is scheduled to hold in Ibadan on Sunday September 20, 2020. It will be hosted by Dr Kayode Fayemi, the Governor of Ekiti State.

“The report by the representatives to the meetings in Abuja were deliberated upon and the consensus is that every party member should support the peace initiative of the National Caretaker Committee,” the communique stated.

Those present at the meeting commended the APC National Caretaker Committee for the peace initiative in the party and specifically thanked Governor Fayemi for volunteering to host the meeting of the Oyo APC stakeholders and for his untiring effort to restore peace to the party in the state.

The meeting also accepted all the proposals for peace as contained in the report of representatives to the meetings in Abuja.

READ  Fear In NASS As Speaker Gives Akpabio Ultimatum

The meeting granted the representatives to the Abuja meetings the power to select the three members that would work on the registration of members and liaise with the National Caretaker Committee of the party.

Other leaders present at the meeting were Alhaji Fatai Ibikunle, chairman, Nigerian Lottery Regulatory Commission; Chief Niyi Akintola SAN, a governorship aspirant in the 2019 elections; Senator Adesoji Akanbi; Honourables Saheed Fijabi, Olusumbo Olugbemi and Saheed Adejare (who were all former members of the House of Representatives.

Others included Dr Gbade Ojo, immediate past Chief of Staff to former governor Abiola Ajimobi,  Honourable Fatai Salam, Parliamentary Leader, Oyo State House of Assembly(2011-2015); Goke Oyetunji, former chairman, Oyo North Senatorial Zone; and Isiaka Alimi, former deputy chairman, Oyo APC, while a former deputy governor in the state,Chief Alake Adeyemo, was represented by Asimi Alabi.

Also present were Alhaji Lekan Kazeem, member, Board of Federal Medical Centre, Ido Osi, Ekiti State; Jelili Agboola, a former commissioner in the state; Alhaji Yekini Popoola; Honourable Soji Ojoawo, former chairman, Oyo West; Honourable Niyi Olabiyi, former chairman, Saki East; Honourable Adekunle Muktar, former chairman, Oyo East and Honourable Adelani Azeez, former Commissioner for Environment.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.